Three from PBL advance to state math competition

CHAMPAIGN — Three members of Paxton-Buckley-Loda High School’s math team have advanced to the state competition as individuals.

Based on their performances in the Feb. 25 regional contest held at Parkland College in Champaign, Dalton Busboom advanced in the Algebra I Written Event, Adam McMullin advanced in the Algebra II Written Event and Cooper Johnson advanced in the Pre-Calculus Written Event.

“We anticipate the calculator team and the fresh-soph two-person team to advance also, but we need to wait until that is confirmed by the Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics, which will likely be about March 17,” said Sheila Pickens, who coaches PBL’s math team alongside Ted Powers. “According to the regional results, the calculator team is tied for fifth place in the state, and the fresh-soph two-person team is ranked sixth.”

Overall, PBL’s math team placed second at the regional competition. PBL is now ranked 16th in the state in Division 2A. Mahomet-Seymour placed first and is ranked first in the state in Division 2A.

As individuals, Dalton Busboom earned first place in Algebra 1, while Luke Cowan earned a Parkland Medal in Algebra 1, Adam McMullin earned third place in Algebra 2 and Cooper Johnson earned second place in pre-calculus. 

Placing second in their division were PBL’s Algebra 1 team, geometry team, Algebra 2 team, pre-calculus team, fresh-soph eight-person team, fresh-soph two-person team and calculator team.

The Algebra 1 team is comprised of Busboom, Cowan, Lucy Galey, Kirsten Jansen, Morgan Schroeder, Gracie Smith, Gavin Coplea, Carson Dudley, Hailey Ellis, Tate Graham, Liam McMullin, Reese SanDiego and Anna Wolken.

The geometry team is comprised of Evie Ellis, Jordan Giese, Mikki Jones, Bridget McMullin and Nathan Waterson

The Algebra 2 team is comprised of Jaxson Coplea, Joel Deatrick, Kris Hewerdine, Logan Knuth, Adam McMullin, Mitch St.Peter and Kaylee Miller.

The pre-calculus team is comprised of  Kaila Christensen, Dalton Coplea, Braydon Dudley, Cole Eshleman, Cooper Johnson and MaKenzie Schroeder.

The fresh-soph eight-person team is comprised of Lucy Galey, Jordan Giese, Kirsten Jansen, Mikki Jones, Bridget McMullin, Gracie Smith, Nathan Waterson and Anna Wolken.

The fresh-soph two-person team is comprised of Dalton Busboom and Nathan Waterson.

The calculator team is comprised of Dalton Busboom, Kaila Christensen, Luke Cowan, Cooper Johnson and Adam McMullin.

Categories (2):News, Education
Location (3):Local, Paxton, Ford County


The Paxton Record embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments