Candidates file paperwork to be on April election ballot

Wednesday was the last day candidates for the April 9, 2013, consolidated election could file their nominating petitions to be listed on the ballot.
Following is a list of seats up for election in the Paxton Record’s coverage area and the people who filed as candidates:

Up for election: Board members Dawn Bachtold of Paxton, Mike Short of rural Paxton, Shawn Young of Paxton and Chris Thompson of Paxton.
Filed: Bachtold, Young, Alan Johnson of Loda, Shawn Young of Paxton, Chris Thompson of rural Paxton and Kevin Harms of Paxton.
(Top four vote-getters are elected; all are for four-year terms. Because they filed simultaneously, the ballot order of Bachtold, Young and Johnson will be determined through a lottery at noon Friday at the unit office.)

Up for election:
Board members Tyler Young, Jill Doran, Rodney Cope, Greg Kerber and Scott Shoemaker.
Filed: For four-year terms, Elder, Josh Johnson, Jamie Zbinden and Young. For a two-year term, Cope.
(Voters will elect four people to four-year terms and one for a two-year term)

Up for election:
Commissioners Eric Evans, Kathleen McCabe, Gwen Smith, Brad Strebeck and Steve Sample.
Filed: Strebeck, Sample, Smith.
(All are for four-year terms except the seat currently held by Sample; whoever is elected to Sample’s seat will serve two years)

Up for election: Mayor Bill Ingold, City Clerk Stacey Jones, aldermen Bill Goben (Ward 1), Alan Meyer (Ward 1), Del Bruens (Ward 2), Brad Marshall (Ward 3), Marc Amore (Ward 3) and Josh Garrell (Ward 4).
Filed: Ingold (for mayor), Jones (for city clerk), Meyer and Linda Glad (for alderman in Ward 1), Bruens (for alderman in Ward 2), Marshall and Amore (for alderman in Ward 3) and Rob Steiger (for alderman in Ward 4).
(All seats are for four-year terms except the seats held by Meyer and Amore, which are for two years)

Up for election: Village Board President Jim Hull, Village Clerk Jim Biggs and trustees Betty Hull, Becky Weisenbarn and Jim Longest (all four-year terms) and Ron Lenington and Terry Whitebird (unexpired two-year terms).
Filed: Evan Scott Shockley and Jim Hull for village board president; Biggs for village clerk; Betty Hull, Weisenbarn, Ardell Goetting and Jim Longest for trustee (four-year terms) and Lenington, Whitebird and Adam Tofari for trustee (two-year terms).

Up for election:
Village Board President Russ Ehlers, Village Clerk Michael Davis and three trustees.
Filed: Ehlers (for president), Davis (for clerk), J.B. Daughenbaugh (for a two-year unexpired trustee term), and Jason Burton, Josh Rouley and Dale McPherson (for pair of four-year terms).

Up for election:
Mayor Dan Dickey, City Treasurer Scott Schull, City Clerk Carla Moxley and aldermen Barb Yergler (Ward 1), Betty Lane (Ward 2), John Carlson (Ward 3), Dennis Pardick (Ward 4) and Laura Miller (Ward 4).
Filed: Dickey (for mayor), Moxley (for city clerk), Schull (for treasurer), Yergler (for alderman in Ward 1), Janice Hall (for alderman in Ward 2), Carlson (for alderman in Ward 3), Miller and Pardick (for alderman in Ward 4).

Up for election:
Village Board President Carol Arseneau, Village Clerk Sandy Zalaker and trustees Roy Hilgendorf, Doug Freed and Rick Gooden.
Filed: Sandy Coffey, John Zalaker and Ron Dudley (for village board president), Sandy Zalaker (for village clerk) and Hilgendorf,  Arseneau, Freed and Patricia Allen (for trustee).

Up for election:
Village Board President Harold Forbes, Village Clerk Lynn Duke and trustees Bill Curtis, Vernon Shapland and Sheila Hinthorn.
Filed: Forbes (for village board president), Duke (for village clerk), and Shapland, Curtis and Hinthorn (for trustee).

Up for election:
Village Board President Aaron Warren, Village Clerk Minette Warren and trustees Clif Rexroad, Lynn Magers and John Duncan.
Filed: Aaron Warren (for president), Minette Warren (for clerk), Duncan, Rexroad and Magers (for trustee).

Up for election:
Village Board President Rick Flessner, Village Clerk Viola Kumpf and trustees Matt Vaughan, Debbie Burns and Joe Schwarz.
Filed: Flessner (for village board president), Kumpf (for village clerk), Joy Gonzales, Vaughan, Schwarz (for village trustee).

The deadline to declare for write-in condidacy is Feb. 7. Potential write-in candidates would need to get a form from Ford County Clerk Linda Kellerhals.


The Paxton Record embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments