Miller re-elected president of Ford County Fair board

MELVIN — Kirk Miller of Melvin was re-elected president of the Ford County Fair Board at its annual meeting Feb. 2. 

Dallas Meyer of Thawville and Corinne Brown of Paxton were re-elected vice president and secretary/treasurer, respectively.

Scott Harden of Gibson City was re-elected to the board as a director, while Caity Heap of Paxton was elected to her first term on the board.

Additional board members include Roger Wycoff of Piper City, Leanne Wright of Gibson City, Vera Bunting of Gibson City, Tim Muehlenpfort of Melvin, Craig Kief of Paxton and Dave Kaeding of Loda.

The fair is scheduled for June 23-29. After a year off, the open horse show will be back on the schedule this year, as well as an open poultry show.  In addition, several new events are slated. Details will be posted at as the fair approaches.

The board also continued to finalize plans for its annual cash bash Saturday, March 2, at the Kruse Center in Gibson City.  A John Deere Gator TX-4x2 has been added as an additional grand prize option that can be won at the event. The gator is supplied by AHW in Melvin. Tickets are available by contacting a board member or by emailing

Location (3):Local, Ford County, Melvin


The Paxton Record embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments