SBA assistance approved for Iroquois County for December floods

SPRINGFIELD — Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner announced Thursday that the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved the state’s request for assistance to help people and businesses in Christian and Iroquois counties recover from severe storms and floods that occurred in late December.

In addition, people and businesses in counties contiguous to Christian and Iroquois counties — including Ford, Kankakee, Macon, Montgomery, Sangamon, Shelby and Vermilion counties in Illinois and the Indiana counties of Benton and Newton — are eligible to apply for low-interest, long-term loans made available by the SBA declaration.

“This assistance will help many people and businesses begin the next phase of their recovery from this disaster,” Rauner said in a news release. “I want to thank members of the Illinois Congressional delegation for their strong support of this request.”

To be eligible for an SBA declaration, at least 25 homes and/or businesses in a county must sustain major, uninsured losses of 40 percent or more. A damage assessment conducted in February identified 33 homes and six businesses in Christian County and 22 homes and five businesses in Iroquois County that met the criteria.

More information about the disaster loan program and details about a Disaster Loan Outreach Center (DLOC) will be announced by the SBA in the near future.


The Paxton Record embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments