Iroquois County Board to start meeting in evening

WATSEKA — After years of holding its regular monthly meetings on Tuesday mornings, the Iroquois County Board will make a switch to evening meetings starting in January.

Earlier this month, the board voted to begin holding its full board meetings at 6 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month. Committee meetings will remain at their currently designated times.

Board members supporting the move to night meetings were: District III board members Vince LaMie and Donna Crow; District IV board members Larry Hasbargen, Kevin Bohlmann, Sherry Johnson and Kevin Coughenour; District II board members Dan Pursley and Jed Whitlow; and District I board member Chad McGinnis.

“If you have been unable to participate in the past because no meetings were scheduled in the evening, now may be a good time to get involved,” a news release from those board members said. “The above-named board members supported the change and are willing to answer questions or otherwise discuss meetings and procedures or other matters of the county board with interested parties.”


The Paxton Record embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments