Sangamon Valley announces all-conference team, PBL with five representatives

PAXTON — The Panthers had a handful of representatives on the Sangamon Valley All-Conference team.

Senior lineman Nick Heisler was given a special mention for the all-SVC offensive team. He was PBL’s lone representative on offense.

Defensively, PBL had three representatives.

Junior Trent Wooten was named to the all-SVC defensive team as a defensive end while senior Jacob Meyer received that honor as a defensive lineman. Wooten finished the 2012 season with 61 tackles, six sacks and two interceptions while Meyer had 24 tackles and one sack.

Junior Drew Schrodt received a special mention after recording 40 tackles, five sacks and an interception.

Junior Weston Weber received an all-SVC honorable mention.

Weber recorded 22 tackles on defense. Offensively, he completed 26-of-63 passes for 446 yards, four touchdowns and seven interceptions and ran the ball 98 times for 274 yards and four touchdowns.

Other SVC All-Conference members:


Receivers — Logan Podowicz, Clifton Central; Austin Zirkle, Iroquois West; Louis Acklin, St. Joseph-Ogden; Kevin Carroll, St. Thomas More.

Tight ends — Derrick Graham, Clifton Central; Lamar Watson, Momence.

Linemen — Josh Brenneisen and Kolton Koch, Clifton Central; Lucas Bielecki, Momence; Josh Poulter, St. Joseph-Ogden; John Strauser, St. Thomas More; Logan Schippert, Watseka.

Running backs — Logan Gigl, Clifton Central; DeAndre Wright, Momence; Chase Patton, St. Joseph-Ogden; A.J. Young, St. Thomas More; Austin Blair, Watseka.

Quarterbacks — Dalton Walsh, St. Joseph-Ogden; Storm Joop, St. Thomas More.

Punter — Kevin Carroll, St. Thomas More.

Special mention — Mike Plecki, St. Thomas More; Dalton Smith, Clifton Central.


Defensive ends — Dalton Smith, Clifton Central; Lamar Watson, Momence; Corbin Hesterbring, St. Joseph-Ogden.

Defensive linemen — Josh Brenneisen, Clifton Central; Jordan Hartman, St. Joseph-Ogden, Chris Bequette, St. Thomas More.

Linebackers — Derrick Graham, Clifton Central; Zach Rupp, Momence; Austin Hedrick, St. Joseph-Ogden; John Strauser, St. Thomas More; Austin Hasselbring, Watseka.

Defensive backs — Noah Frerichs, Clifton Central; Brady Depratt, St. Joseph-Ogden; Kevin Carroll, St. Thomas More; Daulton Depatis, Watseka.

Kicker — Daniel Shin, St. Thomas More.

Special mention — Kolton Koch, Logan Podowicz and Mike Raines, Clifton Cetnral; Henry Gerritson and Austin Zirkle, Iroquois West; Austin Saindon, Momence, Chase Kangas, St. Thomas More; Brock Myers and Alex Gocken, Watseka.

Honorable Mention

T.J. O’Hara, Clifton Central; T.J. Foulks, Iroquois West; Michael Simpson, Momence; Aaron Woller, St. Joseph-Ogden; Ben Ely, St. Thomas More; Jake Lyznicki, Watseka.


The Paxton Record embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments